Elite Sports Boxing Gloves Review

Score+2

$24.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
SEE IT
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Elite Sports New Item Standard Adult Kickboxing, Muay Thai Sparring Training Boxing Gloves, White, 14 oz. - $24.99
Price history
×
Price history for Elite Sports New Item Standard Adult Kickboxing, Muay Thai Sparring Training Boxing Gloves, White, 14 oz.
Latest updates:
  • $24.99 - August 2, 2018
  • $27.99 - June 14, 2018
  • $29.99 - May 22, 2018
  • $29.43 - May 21, 2018
  • $29.99 - April 20, 2018
  • $21.99 - April 5, 2018
Since: April 5, 2018
  • Highest Price: $29.99 - April 20, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $21.99 - April 5, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: September 22, 2018 5:35 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Our Review
  • Photos
  • Rating

A new player in entry level or budget fight gear has emerged, and Elite Sports is happy to offer a variety of equipment at a great price point. If you order through Amazon Prime, you’ll have your Elite Sports equipment in 2 business days.

Elite Sports offers their standard adult boxing gloves in a variety of colors, and in sizes ranging from 10 to 14 ounces.  They feature gel injected foam and Maya hide fabric, a synthetic leather that is suggested to be very durable. RDX is another brand that uses Maya hide fabric in quite a few of their offerings.

First Look

On first look of the gloves, as well as their other gear, the graphics are simple, clean, and unique to the company.  They look good, they have a nylon liner with anti-microbial coating, a generous vented area on the palm, and a decent size grip bar.

When sliding my hands into the 14 oz gloves, they are decently comfortable, and the mesh panel works very well in ventilating the hand.  The Velcro wrist enclosure works just as it should, and I felt pretty secure with these gloves, the overall look and feel is similar to that of the Venum Challenger gloves.

back to menu ↑

Actual Use

After some rounds on the heavy bag and hitting pads with my training partner, I noticed my hands were nice and cool, and stayed right where they should, and the Maya hide looked to take initial use pretty well.  The foam injected padding however, did not hold up to continuous hard punching by a heavyweight, and I felt my knuckles bottom out the padding and become sore after the first training session.  For fairness, I normally use a 16 or 18 oz glove while hitting the heavy bag, but since Elite Sports offers 14 oz as their heaviest glove, 14 oz is what I used.  For reference, the 14 oz is suggested by Elite Sports for use of someone weighing 151-180 pounds, and I do not fit that weight category, so a user of the suggested weight may not experience the same thing I did.

I used these gloves a few more training sessions, using them for pad work and a little heavy bag training, I decided not to spar using the Elite Sports gloves, however, if offered in a heavier size, I would have no problem with it.  These gloves seem to be pretty well constructed, the material held up and looked great after use, and I really like the anti-microbial lining.

back to menu ↑

Summary

The more I thought about these gloves and what to compare them with, it came to mind that these would be a direct competitor with any glove you would buy at a sporting goods store, or a Venum Contender series glove.  And directly pitted against an Everlast glove at your local Dick’s Sporting Goods, the Elite Sports glove would fair very well.

There are 2 more great things about these Elite Sports gloves; the first is their price point:

Last update was on: September 23, 2018 5:35 am

At this time of the review these gloves have a 4.5 rating with over 200 reviews, and are an ‘Amazon’s Choice’ selection on the site. The 2nd great thing is that these gloves fit very nicely with Elite’s other options, you can have matching shorts, gloves, and rash guard for under $100. For a gear set that will last, that is unheard of.

7.5 Total Score
Elite Sports Boxing Gloves

Elite Sports boxing gloves are a great option for your first set of boxing gloves, or a top of the line budget glove, and while you’re at it, grab an entire set of matching gear at an extremely good price.

Protection & Padding
6
Quality & Durability
7
Design
8
Cost
9
PROS
  • Great price point
  • Good choice for entry level
  • Better than department store boxing gloves
CONS
  • Limited sizing available
Add your review

We thank the good folks at Elite Sports for providing these gloves to review. This did not influence the outcome of the review, which was written after several months and rounds of training.

7.5 Total Score
Elite Sports Boxing Gloves

Elite Sports boxing gloves are a great option for your first set of boxing gloves, or a top of the line budget glove, and while you’re at it, grab an entire set of matching gear at an extremely good price.

Protection & Padding
6
Quality & Durability
7
Design
8
Cost
9
PROS
  • Great price point
  • Good choice for entry level
  • Better than department store boxing gloves
CONS
  • Limited sizing available
Add your review

Tags:

Show full profile

Reviewer

Greg has been a student of multiple disciplines of martial arts since 2010. He is a former amateur kickboxing champion, and an avid fight gear enthusiast.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

Optionally add an image (JPEG only)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Reset Password

Send this to a friend